“what is Girls Get Busy?”

 

GGB is a feminist collective supporting female artists, writers and musicians. The zine is printed on a monthly basis featuring various work from women all over, as well as a Tumblr which kind of acts like a mood board!

Every month we host a free zine issue party playing a lot of riot grrrl and other female vocalists – we actually screened ‘don’t need you’ this month, which is a riot grrrl documentary. We’ve also put on bands like Throwing Up, BROTHERS and Good Throb, and had guest djs like Nathan from The Gossip (Beth Ditto actually came, I nearly cried!)

I released Chixtape #1 6 months ago which featured girl punk/garage bands like Cat Vet, Slutever and Night of Joy and loads more – I had taped and decorated each tape, each with their own individual sticker design.
I’m currently working on releasing Chixtape #2 in a month or so!

I started it at the end of December 2010, that’s when I released the first issue.
I’d been inspired by the riot grrrl zines for years but had sort of lacked self belief, and it was when one of my good friends made an illustration zine that I released how easy it is. Now I’m a part of the zine community, donate to zine libraries and have stalls at fairs - and the support I’ve received is totally amazing.

http://girlsgetbusyzine.bigcartel.com/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Girls-Get-Busy-Zine/190855740930386


 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “what is Girls Get Busy?”

  1. ellenlindna says:

    Love this! Can’t wait to meet Girls Get Busy at the SELZF.

Leave a Reply

